Skip to content

The Aperture Mask Project

March 2, 2008

I’ve had this link hanging around in my bookmarks for ages and have done nothing about it.

But I recently re-read it, and when I came to the part that said –

You will need :

* One large aperture lens (a Canon 50mm F1.8 is used here)

…I thought, well that’s handy. I’ll have a go at that.

I don’t really know why I didn’t expect it to work. But of course it did.

(And all 4 photos in a Flickr set here)

Sakura

The above is with the ‘sakura’ (cherry blossom) shaped mask. For the full effect, I’ll have to see if I can find some pink lights. Not easy.

And of course there was the original, the heart.

Find me in the crowd

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2008 7:35 pm

    Nice photos 🙂 I will give this a try.

  2. March 6, 2008 11:40 pm

    It’s enormous fun, Chris. Easy to make, any shape you like, and away you go. Let us see your results if you do give it a go!

  3. October 16, 2008 11:54 pm

    Also seen here: http://nslog.com/2007/01/20/shapertures .

    It’s definitely a fun technique. Doesn’t even require much math! 🙂

  4. October 17, 2008 3:40 am

    Hey-Anyone know if this will work w/ a point and shoot? This seems very fun and I’d like to reference it on my general blog but it won’t be much use to my point n shoot friends if you have to have an SLR.
    Thanks-

  5. Linda permalink
    October 18, 2008 5:23 am

    Oh … so cool. Thank you — can’t wait to try it!

  6. October 20, 2008 9:35 am

    Those pics u took r so cute…I’ve tried using my p&s but it was just too small I didn’t work…

  7. December 16, 2009 5:16 am

    I used this technique for a photography contest. The deadline was today, Dec, 15th. The contest was opened by a company called Alfozo Rivas. Their logo has an eagle on it, so that’s the shape I went with.

    I hoe I win (yn)

  8. Sue permalink
    September 6, 2010 5:27 am

    The largest the cutout can be is the focal length divided by the aperture.

    so, for a 50mm lens at f1.8, then the largest the cutout can be is roughly 27mm (1 inch) .

Trackbacks

  1. Photography News, Digital Camera Reviews and more » Aperture Mask: The Many Faces of Bokeh
  2. Apeture Mask by Lee Hancock « ωϊΪΪϊαm §öö’s ßlöġ
  3. More Aperture Mask frippery « overoften’s
  4. What Went Wrong? - Page 2

Leave a Reply

