Skip to content

The little girl with the little curl

January 16, 2008

There’s a particular lesson each week that I don’t look forward to. It’s a one-to-one children’s class, not usually my favourites anyway, but this one particularly so. On a good day, the lesson flies by. On a bad day, I get the silent treatment. For the entire lesson. Not a murmur.

It means I end up treading on eggshells, never knowing what’ll greet me when the bell above the door rings, and then being ultra-careful not to do anything that risks sending the child spiralling into her dark abyss.

Having got precisely fifty minutes of nothing, not even eye contact, last week, I was looking forward to this week’s lesson like a visa renewal. I took a deep breath, and in I went. And it went swimmingly. An absolute charm.

Which left me tired and baffled. After the lesson I commented to Mrs C, “I think that child’s bipolar.”

To which she replied, “Or maybe she’s twins.”

0__Ô

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mum permalink
    January 17, 2008 8:36 pm

    Well you are apparently not in tune with a woman’s logical thinking!! Well done Kuni!! You are absolutely right!! One twin is Miss Nasty who doesn’t talk to you at all and the other twin is Miss Nice who is sweetness and light. Sobvious, innit?!!!

    You only need a woman’s logic to give you the answers to life’s mysteries! (I think Confucious said that! Even if I can’t spell his name.)

  2. overoften permalink*
    January 17, 2008 8:55 pm

    Sorry, my computer keeps pulling up an error trying to process the phrase “woman’s logic”…

    Confucious? Adjective meaning full of Confuce? 😉

Leave a Reply

